My struggle to lose my Baby fat

I have always struggled a bit with my weight but after having Elise I struggled to lose my baby fat.  Then the most stressful period of my life came up and I put on more weight.  Elise was 18 months old and I was approximately 86kg.  It may not seem a high figure for some people but considering I’m 163cm tall (on a good day) I can’t carry much weight.  I felt humongous and depressed.

From January 2017 to June 2017 I lost 10kg and this is my journey going forward.  I’m hoping to lost another 10kg to be around 66kg.  The first 10kg was easy but I’m guessing the next 10 not so much.  I haven’t weighed myself for a wee while but I believe in not looking at the weight on the scales as much as judging my weight loss by the clothes I’m wearing or fit as I have an array from size 8 to 18.  Currently I have a pretty little dress I want to get into for summer.

To be thin isn’t my main aspiration.  To feel good about myself and have more energy for my daughter is.  I don’t want summer to hit and not be happy about my body so don’t do all the things I want to do with my little girl.

Now if you know my husband, he likes his treats.  Unluckily for me that means there’s always sweets such as ice cream in the house and he’s always keen for me to do some baking.  He also loves having a big dinner as quite often he’s busy at work and doesn’t stop to eat so by the end of the day is STARVED.

My Sister-in-law and Mother-in-law both have done yummy mummy and had huge success (the SIL has lost over 30kg).  I was trying to do a mediatteran diet recently but have struggled with it for some reason.  I also find I hibernate in the winter and crave ‘comfort’ food.

I have done the Dukan diet previously and I am going to try to do it again.  I am a carbohydrate lover – I love bread, potatoes and pasta with a passion.  I also need something that works with my husband.  The Dukan is basically protein and vegetables and you can slowly introduce carbs back in as you progress but not too many.  I have lived with this diet for a substantial time (pre baby) and found it very sustainable but that was when I was working away (FIFO) and it’s very easy to cut the crap when it’s not as readily available.

I am putting it out there to help hold myself accountable.  Turning down that treat or getting out of bed to go for a run is easier when I know I’ll be writing about it again in maybe 3 months.  They say it takes at least 66 days to form a habit.  I started today with the food aspect so tomorrow the jog/run starts, couch to 5km here I come.

I have a few girlfriends that have things that work for them such as a raw food diet, another that does Juice Plus, a gym junkie plus a few other bits and bobs.  What do other people do and find works for them?

This picture with my hubby is my inspiration!

Thin Debs

Leave a Reply

